Well

I’d give it a B-, but Bear would probably go lower…

I really liked the Buffalo Chicken Tenders – I soaked them for 30 minutes in a mixture of Louisiana hot sauce, Sweet Baby Ray’s Hot n’ Spicy bbq sauce, and some canned cranberry sauce for sweetness. Then i dredged them in flour seasoned with cayenne and garlic salt. Then i pan fried them in 1 tbsp of butter melted into 2 tbsp of canola oil.
I thought they were awesome – but they didn’t get/stay really crispy. Probably because it was an attempt to do a low-cal version. Bear thought they were undercooked but he was inculcated into the school of overcooking chicken at a very early age. He always overcooks it! and then he accuses me of undercooking! But he’s wrong – there was no trace of pink, no hint of raw, just juicy white meat!

(btdubs, i’m trying to start a new trend in food blogging – it’s called Real Food Photography. Sure it’s because i don’t want to take the time to make my food look more appealing with fancy plates and lighting and stuff,but it’s also because when you take the time to do all that then you have to WAIT TO EAT IT! and Bear and i are HUNGRY)

So anyway, the cole slaw turned out great! I made a vinaigrette of chipotle mustard, honey mustard, apple cider vinegar, lime juice, salt and pepper and oil. Then i added 1/2 head of shredded cabbage, some finely chopped onion, chopped celery, and a chopped carrot. It was awesome, definitely an A+

(have i mentioned before that i am MUCH better at making dishes that don’t require cooking? I really make the BEST sandwiches and salads!)

Then the part i was most excited about – the Pioneer Woman’s Mystery Rolls!
I think i baked them too long, and i’m still kicking myself over it!
I did everything else according to the directions, except i only used half a stick of butter and only about 3 oz of blue cheese. Then i rolled all the bits around in the melted gooey goodness. Then I put half of them on another baking tray and left the other half on the tray that still had gooey goodness.
I only baked them for 7 minutes at 350 degrees.
But the bottoms got way too brown – very crunchy, almost burnt. and the tray that still had the gooey goodness was covered in brown crunchies – the butter and cheese burnt!
So I don’t know what to make of that, I’m really not sure what went wrong. any ideas?

