so last friday we went to Las Tablas, an Argentinean restaurant on Lincoln that I had never been to before
and we had empanadas, churrasco, steak of many kinds, lots of wine, yummy plantains, and tasty arepa
i didn’t take pictures because Bear wouldn’t let m
but it was GOOD!

well it must have been stuck in my head because when i was browsing through my mom’s cookbooks on sunday night looking for something to make for dinner for me and Bear (the parents were at a fundraiser, we were doing laundry….ok ok HE was doing our laundry…)
i found a recipe for empanadas!
in the More with Less cookbook of all places! (it’s by Mennonites?)
My mom has always had a copy of More with Less and i’ve always liked that it’s small, and spiral-bound, and the recipes are simple


(sorry for the camera-phone pics!)

so the recipe was really just for the dough and then you could do any fillings you want!

Empanadas from More with Less

Sift together:
2 cups white flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

Cut in:
1/2 cup shortening (i used a stick of butter)

Add:
1/3 cup COLD milk (i ended up using almost double the amount of milk)

Then roll out the dough to 1/4 inch thickness, then cut out 4 inch rounds, fill, and seal edges and deep fry or bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes

I decided to do some with a spiced ground beef, onions and cheese filling and a few others with something sweet

As i was making the dough i realized that i had never made my own pastry dough before (excluding cookies) and it’s HARD
i’m not sure if i did it right, and i KNOW that i didn’t roll the dough out right, but i improvised and did my best
i also realized that these are definitely an americanized/midwest version of these tasty treats!
Bear dubbed them meat pies, and they really were more reminiscent of the upper midwest “pasties” than the south american empanadas

so here’s the meat pockets in progress

they were TASTY! Bear was totally impressed! and that is hard to achieve!

then i made a couple sweet ones
i decided to do a smear of caramel, a dollop of blackberry jam, and a blackberry as the filling

(when the rolling out the dough thing was not working out for me i started smashing dough flat in my hand and stuffing them that way)
they turned out AWESOME!

Overall I was very happy. I think i might be a pastry chef after all!
I’m thinking crepes are coming up soon…

